Waste King Legend 8000 Garbage Disposal Review

Waste King L-8000 Garbage Dispsoal

The Waste King Legend 8000  Garbage Disposal features a 1 hp “Vortex” permanent magnet motor that operates at 2800 RPM giving you a powerful, yet energy efficient way to dispose of any food waste in your kitchen. The Waste King 8000 uses stainless steel grinding components and the corrosion proof grinding chamber is made of glass filled nylon.  This thing is durable and built to last.

The stainless steel grinding components are also insulated to help minimize noise and keep this disposal quiet.  This is a high quality product that is backed by a lifetime in-home service warranty and can provide you with many years of hassle free service.

Amazon.com by far has the best prices on this Garbage Disposal. Click here to check it out.

Waste King Legend 8000 Features and Specifications:

  • Waste King Legend 8000 Dimensions: 8 1/2 inches wide by 16 1/16 inches tall
  • Product Weight: 14.7 pounds
  • High Speed 2800 R.P.M.
  • 36-Inch Power Cord is Included
  • Removable Splash Guard
  • Rust Free Grinding Components
  • Longest warranties in the industry demonstrates commitment to quality

Waste King Legend 8000 Reviews:

The reviews for the Waste King Legend 8000 Garbage Disposal are outstanding.  With well over 100 reviews online the Waste King 8000 has received either 4 star or 5 star reviews from 93% of the people that took the time to post their thoughts online.  The reviews of this product are not just good but most of the people enthusiastically endorse this disposal.  Many people commented on how quiet this disposal is saying that they were surprised because although it is a large and powerful unit it is quieter than the smaller disposals it is replacing.

Its powerful 1 hp motor can grind up the toughest food scraps and is more than sufficient for home use.  One of the reviewers commented that it was cheaper than the 3/4 hp model that they were looking at and when you add to that the fact that there is a lifetime warranty it is an easy decision to make the purchase.

Some of the reviewers said that they had a plumber install this disposal but many people took it on as a do-it-yourself project and said that installation was easy.  It is a large disposal though so just make sure you have enough room under your sink.

Buy from Amazon

In addition to very strong reviews from actual customers, the Waste King Legend 8000 was featured in the August 2009 issue of Consumer Reports where it was rated highest out of six disposals tested.  There are an incredible number of positive reviews for this product with many people saying it’s the best disposal they have ever seen or used.  Our research suggests that this is a very high quality product and we feel comfortable giving the Waste King Legend 8000 Garbage Disposal our recommendation.

Garbage Disposal Reviews | Waste King Disposals

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

7 Comments at "Waste King Legend 8000 Garbage Disposal Review"

Mike from Florida May 1st, 2010 (#)

When we moved into this house 6 weeks ago, the first order of business was to replace the ugly black sink that seemed to absorb most of the light in our pure white kitchen. Why anyone would install a dull black granite sink where the countertops are white, the cupboards are white and the floors are white, we’ll never know. It was just plain nasty and a real eyesore.

With that in mind, we purchased a new Kohler Stainless Steel sink at Lowes, a fantastic Moen brushed nickel faucet set on EBay, a 7 stage reverse osmosis water filter from Abundant Flow in Kansas and the Waste King L-8000 Legend waste disposer through Amazon.

Surprisingly, everything arrived safe and sound and yesterday was installation day, (I’m a devout DIYer and just too cheap to want to call a plumber!). Thanks to good instructions, some decent tools, and Ace Hardware, Home Depot & Lowes that’s just minutes away, I finished about 8 hours after I started to the delight of my smiling wife who couldn’t believe how great the kitchen now looked. The black hole of Calcutta was gone, replaced by a sparkling, shiny new sink and a quiet disposal that really worked. (The Waste King generates about 1/4 of the noise of our old Insinkerator and guess what? When you drop food scraps into it, it doesn’t spit them back at you any longer! They just seem to magically disappear.)

By the way, I did use the liquid detergent on the rubber gaskets and after a few moves that the boys from the WWF would be proud of, along with really tired biceps, I was able to finally lock the ring in place. Next time, if there ever is a next time, I’ll attach the disposal unit to the new sink BEFORE I drop it into place.

All in all, we’re really pleased with the quality of all of the items we purchased. The Kohler sink is heavy gauge metal and very well finished, the Moen faucets are beautiful to look at and solid as a rock, the RO water filter is keeping the chemicals and other garbage out of our drinking water and the Waste King L-8000 just purrs!

Yesterday’s 8 hours of toil and sweat was well worth it. I’ll be the household hero this week for sure! Thanks Amazon!!!

Don. S May 1st, 2010 (#)

We got back from vacation to find our sink stopped up. One of my errant attempts to unstop it (plug one side of the sink & run the disposer) caused my 12 year old Waste King Gourmet to blow a seal and leak from the bottom. So much for shortcuts.

I checked Home Depot & Lowe’s & found their better disposers at or above $200. Then I checked Consumer Reports and found this one was top rated and about half the price. Great fast Amazon checkout – had it in 3 days!!

I removed the old disposer and seat, THOROUGHLY cleaned the stainless steel sink on both sides and sat down with a soda to read the instructions. After all, it had been over a decade since I’d done this. It was my dog’s first time to watch.

The instructions were thorough. All I had to do was follow them – particularly the leak test BEFORE hanging the disposer. It helps to have a big tub under your sink anytime you are disassembling the maze of pipes under there.

The whole process took about an hour and most of that was meticulously cleaning the sink so all residue and uneven spots were smooth.

I hung the disposer and checked for leaks again. To my delight, I had done it right the first time! After patting myself on the back, working out the related cramp from the reach, and plugging the unit in, I was impressed with how quiet it was.

Some of these reviews complained about noise and leaks. This isn’t a job to be done hastily – just follow the steps carefully and be sure all surfaces are CLEAN. The noise level is much quieter than the one I removed. If you grind up bones or marbles, I suspect it would let you know something is going on, but the unit itself with normal food parts is not objectionable at all. Besides, How many minutes a year do you actually run a disposer?

I then called my wife to tell her she wouldn’t need to help with the install & we didn’t have to go out to eat tonight since the sink was back together. She took that with mixed emotions.

I was dreading the project because I’m not usually that lucky with plumbing tasks. I procrastinated longer than I worked. I would recommend and buy another Waste King disposer without giving it a second thought.

papochka July 13th, 2010 (#)

I want to quote your post in my blog. It can?
And you et an account on Twitter?

katie pie July 18th, 2010 (#)

thanks for keeping me up to date on this subject.

Sent from my iPhone 4G

Mr Sandal August 1st, 2010 (#)

I just wanted to say your blog has really been helpful to me and I thank you for your time and effort working on it. Good Luck! :)

Contact Form October 5th, 2010 (#)

It took me a while to search on the net, only your site open up the fully details, bookmarked and thanks again.

- Laura

Vita Cates April 14th, 2011 (#)

I recently purchased the Waste King Legend 8000 from Amazon also. This garbage disposal is awesome. When I first got it I realized that it had a different mounting system and the archaic mess I had installed before. It was a simple fix however to get upgraded to the new EZ mount system and have the new Waste King installed in about 25 minutes. I’m not very familiar with which tools to use in what situation but the instructions included in both the garbage disposal and the adapter kit were incredibly easy.

My experience with the Waste King Legend since have been nothing but good. It is extra quiet, I tried to scare my cat with it who was on my counter (bad cat!) and it didn’t phase him a bit. That’s what I get though, haha. It’s handled everything my family can throw at it so far, and you know with 3 kids and a farmer husband that there have been some things weird put in there!

This disposal also have an incredibly long warranty compared to other disposals. I’m very happy though since I have not had to use this yet. Still it is very comforting to know that Waste King believes in their product so much!

The Waste King Legend 8000 is a top-notch disposal and I highly recommend it.

Comment Now!

Name* Mail Adress* Blog / Website
*